« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Concert pays homage to Piazzolla

March 13, 2021 @ 8:00 pm 10:00 pm

Chinese bayan player Mao Junhao and saxophonist Li Pei will play popular tango and classical music to commemorate the 120th birth year of Argentine tango composer and bandoneon player Astor Piazzolla.

Mao Junhao (L) and Li Pei. File photos

The program will include Piazzolla’s “Primavera,” “Invierno,” “Oblivion,” “Libertango” and “Escualo,” as well as other easy-listening pieces, such as Galliano’s “Tango Pour Claude,” Monti’s “Czardas,” Elgar’s “Salut d’Amour” and Gardel’s “Por Una Cabeza.”

Piazzolla’s works revolutionized the traditional tango into a new style termed “nuevo tango,” incorporating elements from jazz and classical music. A virtuoso bandoneonist, he regularly performed his own compositions with a variety of ensembles.

Astor Piazzolla
His fusion of tango with this wide range of recognizable Western musical elements was so successful that it produced a new individual style transcending those influences. It is precisely this success, and individuality, that makes it hard to pin down where particular influences reside in his compositions, but some aspects are clear.
“Primavera” (“Spring”) and “Invierno” (“Winter”) are from Piazzolla’s “The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires,” a set of four tango compositions. The pieces were scored for his quintet of violin, piano, electric guitar, double bass and bandoneon. Piazzolla gives an impression of the four seasons in Buenos Aires, with several references to Vivaldi’s famous “The Four Seasons.”
“Tango Pour Claude” is a beautiful tango composed by French accordionist Richard Galliano who had studied with Piazzolla. This tango piece is played around the world by accordionists along with small ensembles.

Scan the QR code to buy tickets:

Time: 8 p.m., March 13

Tickets: 120-280 yuan

Booking: WeChat account “mixcworld”

Venue: Theater in MixC World, Nanshan District (南山区万象天地剧场)

Metro: Line 1 to Hi-tech Park Station (高新园站), Exit A


Richard Galliano: Tango pour Claude


Astor Piazzolla: Winter/Spring from


Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonata in g minor


Vittorio Monti: Czardas


Astor Piazzolla: Oblivion



Edward Elgar: Salut d’Amour


Four sensations of Tango

Gorka Hermosa: Anantango

LUI Yuhui: Yangko Tango

Astor Piazzolla: Escualo

CHEN Xinruo: Abandono Tango






Astor Piazzolla: Libertango



Source / Shenzhen Daily

Editor / Cao Zhen

WeChat Editors / Lin Songtao, Jane

19 Kefa Road, 2F Shenzhen Mixc World Nanshan Shenzhen 深圳 南山区 科发路19号华润城万象天地内(艺文广场二层)深圳万象天地剧院
Shenzhen, China

Post your own events for free on the largest event calendar in Shenzhen, China and the Greater Bay Area. Access hundreds of thousands of people browsing our sites and get a chance to be featured on our WeChat, Facebook, Meetup and other social media channels.